Illustration for article titled Beard Brigade celebrates Iron Maidens Seventh Son of a Seventh Son

This is not a review but rather a moment to reflect upon a landmark release in the Heavy Metal community.


25 years ago today, April 11, 1988, Iron Maiden released the monumental Seventh Son of a Seventh Son, considered by many to be the British heavy metal legend’s pinnacle. Debuting at number 1 on the UK charts, Seventh Son of a Seventh Son was inspired by Orson Scott Card’s novel “Seventh Son”. It is also the band’s seventh studio album. It is difficult to determine what the best or greatest Iron Maiden album is, due in no small part to the group having recorded so many classics over the years, however, Seventh Son of a Seventh Son sets itself apart as Maiden’s sole concept album, helping it to stand out in the band’s history. This release serves as what many Maiden fans consider the end of the “golden era” and is still represented in the band’s live set to this day.


Bruce Dickinson – Vocals

Steve Harris – Bass

Nicko McBrain – Drums

Dave Murray – Guitar

Adrian Smith – Guitar

Produced by Martin Birch

Track list

  • Moonchild
  • Infinite Dreams
  • Can I Play With Madness
  • The Evil That Men Do
  • Seventh Son of a Seventh Son
  • The Prophecy
  • The Clairvoyant
  • Only the Good Die Young

The title track, and a musical masterpiece

Share This Story

Get our newsletter